

MINUTES OF THE PROTOCOL COMMITTEE MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY 29 JUNE 2017

1 Election of Protocol Chair

Cllr Deirdre Heney was nominated by Cllr. A Clancy and seconded by Cllr. T Keegan.

Order: Cllr. Deirdre Heney was elected as Chair of the Committee.

2 Election of Protocol Vice-Chair

Cllr. Ciaran O'Moore was nominated by Cllr. T Keegan and seconded by Cllr. R McHugh.

Order: Cllr. Ciaran O'Moore was elected as Vice Chair of the Committee.

3 Minutes of the meeting held on 8th June 2017 and matters arising

Order: Agreed.

4 Lord Mayor's Receptions and Engagements of the Deputy Lord Mayor

Order: Noted and Recommended to Council

5 Conferences

Order: No Conferences attended and no reports Received.

6 Proposed Friendship Agreement with Dublin Ohio

Order: Agreed and Recommended to Council

7 Mansion House Accessibility - City Architects Report

Lenzie O'Sullivan from the City Architects Section briefed the Members on the contents of the report. It was hoped that the works would be completed over the summer as there was a disability event scheduled in the Mansion House for 23rd September.

Order: Noted

8 Report on the Dublin City Local Economic and Community Plan 2016 - 2021

Order: Deferred

9 Correspondence from Waterford City & County Council as referred by the May City Council Meeting

The Committee supported the Motion from Waterford City and County Council calling on the Minister to amend the current regulations to allow for Medical Certification to be considered when calculating Councillors attendance at statutory meetings.

Order: Noted

Approval for Councillor Attendance at the MacGill Summer School, Sunday July 16th - Friday July 21st, Glenties, County Donegal. "Global Turbulence and Uncertainty: Ireland and Europe must prepare for a new Era"

Order: Agreed and recommend to Council. To be approved at the Council meeting on 3rd July.

11 Managers Report

The Manager informed Members on the following matters:

The Housing Welfare Office has been identified as the most suitable location for providing Councillors with office facilities in the Civic Offices. It will be refitted over the summer with the provision of power points, seating, telephone & IT equipment, and tea & coffee facilities.

Order: The Members welcomed the development although they wanted to view the room to ensure it was suitable. Cllrs Keegan and Clancy would inspect it prior to the Council meeting on Monday and make a decision on behalf of the Committee.

- ➤ Eileen Quinlivan is undertaking a Customer Service review from the perspective of the Elected Members and wanted to determine the best way to engage with Councillors.
 - Order: The Members would be happy to give their feedback through a survey or questionnaire.
- ➤ The partial collapse of the ceiling in the Super Room in City Hall will mean that tea and coffee will not be available for Area and SPC meetings for the foreseeable future. Alternate arrangements are being made by the Committee administrators. Members also wished to thank the City Council staff for arranging the refreshments in the Rotunda for the June City Council meeting.

Order: Noted

Following the flying of the Palestinian Flag on City Hall there have been several requests to fly the flags of other countries and organisations. The Manager was of the view that a consistent flag policy was required.

Order: Agreed and the Manager to bring a report to the next meeting.

12 **A.O.B.**

The Lord Mayor informed Members that he intended to incorporate the minutes silence for bereavements with the moment's reflection at the beginning of the Monthly City Council meeting.

Order: Noted

Cllr. N O'Muiri requested that a report be brought to the next meeting on the operation of the current printing policy for Councillors.

Order: Agreed

13 Next Meeting of the Protocol Committee

Order: It was agreed that the next Protocol Committee meeting would take place on Thursday 28th September at 8am in the Richard O'Carroll Room, City Hall.

Councillor Deirdre Heney

Chairperson Thursday 29 June 2017

Attendance:

Members: Members: Members: Dermot Lacey Ciaran O'Moore Naoise O'Muiri Patrick Costello Deirdre Henev Aine Clancy Ardmhéara Micheal Mac Donncha Teresa Keegan John Lyons Michael Mullooly Ray McHugh Naoise O'Muiri Ciaran O'Moore

Officers

Michael Gallagher Deirdre Ni Raghallaigh Lenzie O'Sullivan

Apologies: Sonya Stapleton